Former Fat Arse. 

The 25th of December 2010 was not a very merry Christmas for me at all, for one reason, well two if you count the stonking cold I was sporting, but the main reason being that I made the foolish mistake of stepping onto the scales. Any sane person would know that if you’re hoping to raise your festive spirit, weighing yourself after a good week (or two….or three) of noel feasting is not the way to go. I knew I was overweight but I was not prepared to see 19 st (226lbs) flashing back at me. I was mortified to say the least, I sat in the middle of the bathroom and cried, an all too familiar scene for me. I’d struggled with my weight for all of my teens, which is just a nice way of saying I was fat in high school. Now usually in that situation I would have cried, hid in my room until my Mother came looking for me and then continued to cry whilst she gave me a big hug and tried to comfort me by saying, “don’t worry we’re going to do something about it.”

1930625_42557961912_3913_n

I’d tried for years to loose it, I’d been to dietitians, slimming clubs, walked miles, starved myself, blew out the candles every year and wished to be skinny and I’d even prayed which is really something considering that at the age of seven I’d decided that, “the existence of God lacks evidence.” And when all of these failed, I would lock myself away, eat and just face the fact that I’d always be fat and unhappy. A pretty miserable condemnation to face when your only seventeen.

But that Christmas something was different, I’d met a boy. I met him online and liked him so very much that I hoped some day we could meet up in real life. But I was embarrassed by how I looked and it was holding me back. So I had my little weep but then pulled myself together and promised my big backside that this time was the last time. I went on a strict (but healthy) vegetarian diet, I exercised for at least an hour every day and two years later I was over five stone lighter. It’s as simple as that! There’s no astounding secret to weight loss, it’s pure common sense and a whole lot of motivation.

465733_325469597581631_166463134_o

I’m still no skinny mini, I never will be and that’s just that. I’d be lying if I said I was entirely happy with how I look, I’m not, I’d still like to loose a few more pounds here or there. And I do still on occasion wish I was a size smaller but I can say with the up most certainty I’m much happier and outgoing. My health and fitness have improved beyond imagination which has to be the most important part of this whole journey. So I guess it’s true that if you want something you really have to put in the work to get it.

P.S I got the boy, he’s a terrible influence.

538382_10150790128821913_1709687875_n

2 thoughts on “Former Fat Arse. 

  1. Hi!
    This is a really moving post. I’m so happy you managed to achieve you goal and still working on it. Keep it up! Determination and hardwork will pay of. Good luck 🙂

    I’m glad you got the boy 😉 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

