BookShelf Tour Part One

We begin our bookcase tour with ‘The Read Shelf’ the title is pretty self explanatory but for those of us who are yet to have our morning cup of tea, ‘The Read Shelf’ is where all the books I have finished reading are put out to pasture. As you can see from the picture below this bookcase is full! I’ve even begun to pile books on top of it which is so unsightly and does not agree with my tidy tendencies. The logical thing to do would be to give some of these dusty reads to a new home where they can be lovingly consumed by somebody else.

IMG_3347

However, I rarely part with my books, I enjoy seeing them sat on my shelves, each one holds a special memory for me and only me. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, read during the week I was locked in my home whilst I nursed Jonathan through his norovirus.

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnet, a gift from Jonathan to say thank for nursing him through said virus.

Tipping The Velvet  by Sarah Waters, getting over halfway through before realising this book was very much a book about lesbians. Then very British-ly blushing on the bus whilst devouring  a rather steamy scene between Nan and Kitty.

I can sit by my bookcase scanning through these finished books smiling to myself as I think about their characters, the way their stories stayed with me and what I where I was in my life whilst I enjoyed them. Please tell me I’m not the only person who does this? Also to be taken into account is that I’m a bit of a hoarder when it comes to books!

So without further adue may I please properly introduce ‘The Read Shelf’..

Let us begin with the stragglers on top…

IMG_3351

Pile One 

Burlesque and the Art of the Teese – Dita Von Teese

Alice in Sunderland – Bryan Talbot

Recorded Attacks – Max Brooks

30 Days of Night vol. 1 & 2 – Steve Niles

The Walking Dead vol. 1-10 – Robert Kirkman

Danger Girl – J.Scott Campbell

Before Watchmen (Comedian.Rorschach) – Brian Azzarello

Nemesis – Mark Millar

The Complete Maus – Art Spieglman

Embroideries – Marjane Satrapi

Persepolis – Marjane Satrapi

Running with Scissors – Augusten Burroughs

Priscilla – Nicholas Shakespeare

IMG_3352

Pile Two

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories – Lewis Carroll

Not That Kind of Girl – Lena Dunham

Hollow City – Ransom Riggs

Anno Dracula, Johnny Alucard – Kim Newman

Breakfast at Tiffany’s – Truman Capote

It Is Just Me – Miranda Hart

Anne Frank: Beyond the Diary – Ruud Van Der Rol & Rian Verhoeven

Watchmen – Alan Moore

Black Hole – Charles Burns

Salem Brownstone – John Harris Dunning

Shelf One 

SO MUCH ROALD DAHL

How To Be A Woman – Caitlin Moran

Entire Series of Unfortunate Events

High Fidelity – Nick Hornby

Tipping the Velvet – Sarah Walters

The Penguin Book of Classical Myths – Jenny March

  The Diary of Anne Frank – Anne Frank

The Littlest Stranger – Sarah Walters

My Story – Dave Pelzer

The Help – Kathryn Stockett

Lolita – Vladamir Nobokov

Long Walk to Freedom – Nelson Mandela

Tarzan of the Apes – Edgar Rice Burroughs

The Phantom of the Opera – Gaston Leroux

La Vie Parisienne – Janelle McCulloch

IMG_3348

Self Two

Northerners – Sefton Samuels

Hiroshima – John Hersey

The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button – F. Scott Fitzgerald

World War Z – Max Brooks

Closure Limited – Max Brooks

A Long Way Down – Nick Hornby

Willy Grayson, Will Grayson – John Green & David Levithan

The Best of Everything – Rona Jaffe

A Spot of Bother – Mark Haddon

A Study in Scarlett – Arthur Conan Doyle

Paper Towns – John Green

Rules of Civility – Amor Towles

The Man Who Broke Into Auschwitz – Denis Avey

The Door – Magda Szabo

The Curios Incident of the Dog and the Nightime – Mark Haddon

The Night Watch – Sarah Walters

The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood – Rebecca Wells

The Eyre Affair – Jasper Fforde

The Adventure of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer – Mark Twain

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks – Rebecca Skloot

Wuthering Heights – Jane Bronte

The Red House – Mark Haddon

Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen

Horrorstor – Grady Hendrix

IMG_3349

Shelf Three

Life 1-3 – Keiko Suenobu

The Mafia: The First 100 Years – William Balsamo & George Carpozi Jr.

The Day of the Triffids – John Wyndham

The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

The Godfather – Mario Puzo

An Abundance of Katherines – John Green

Lord of the Flies – William Golding

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas – John Boyne

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

Peter Pan – J.M Barrie

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz – L. Frank Baum

The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett

Gandhi: Naked Ambition – Jad Adams

Dracula – Bram Stoker

Mr Darcy, Vampyre – Amanda Grange

No One Gets Out Alive – Jerry Hopkins & Daniel Sugerman

The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams

Audition – Ryu Murakami

1984 – George Orwell

Blackberry Wine – Joanne Harris

The Magician – W. Somerset Maugham

The Hounds of Baskerville – Arthur Conan Doyle

IMG_3350

PHEW! Goodness me that was one heck of a list! If you are still with me then well done to you!! Let me know if you’ve read any these and if you have any recommendations based on this little lot I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

