The Sculpture Trail

Myself and my partner are determined to start making the most of the beautiful area we live in and let me say it really is a beautiful area! We live in South Wales with towering mountains to our left and endless forests to our right. What a better way to start our home exploration than to walk the sculpture trail through the Forest of Dean, we’ve only been talking about doing it for four years! It took us two and a bit hours to complete the trail, those we some hard two and a bit hours of hills upon hills upon hills. And although I was almost crawling at the end I’m so happy we completed the entire trail, if we’d taken one of the shortcuts we would have missed the ‘Cathedral’ a huge stain glass window suspended high in the trees, it was breathtaking to see the sun shine through this colourful spectacle.  11084281_10153209486911913_7050032675524353921_n All the sculptures were impressive and I loved how each one complimented the surrounding trees. So without further adieu please enjoy a few photos I took during our walk. DSC_0019 DSC_0016 DSC_0011 DSC_0010 DSC_0007 DSC_0023 I have to tell you a little story about this tree because it was beyond spooky! I thought this tree looked beautiful and whilst I went to take photos of it Jonathan decided to take a seat on one of  it’s branches. I began to read all the carvings of names in it’s bark and turned to Jonathan and said, “you’ve never carved my name into a tree, we should do it now, we should carve our initials into this one.” Jonathan said no and told me to come sit with him, we stayed there for a while listening to the birds and as we went to leave Jonathan noticed something. Just below where we were sitting there were some initials carved into the branch. J.H & S.H, Jonathans initials and my future married initials! DSC_0025 DSC_0024 DSC_0039 DSC_0041 DSC_0045 DSC_0048 DSC_0054 DSC_0062 DSC_0065 DSC_0066 DSC_0067

5 thoughts on “The Sculpture Trail

Leave a Reply

