Dear Barbara.

Today’s Prompt: Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. 

Dear Barbara,

I am writing to you simply to say I think you are amazing and I’m ever so grateful to have met you even, though it was only briefly.

My trip to the zoo that day hadn’t been the best I have to admit. I was rejected by a kangaroo when I tried to feed it some pellets, I leant in too close to the electric fence and received a dizzy hit of volts to the forehead and I was chased by a bumble bee. Then you came along.

I was sat munching away at my dry cheese sandwich when I heard the zoo keepers shouting and a child scream with grief. I turned around to see you sat happily holding the crying child’s lollipop. I admire your gusto, if you see something you want, you go out there and get it, even against the protests of a howling toddler. I distinctly remember staring at you with awe, I adored the way you licked and bit the red lolly without a care in the world. I wish I could be as unburdened as were on that day.

“Barbara! Barbara! Get back here!” Shouted the polo shirted zoo keepers. You defied their summons, instead choosing to head in the opposite direction, that direction just happening to be towards me. How you gracefully bounced from each picnic table to the next with such ease it really was a sight to see. You stopped at my table and I had a chance to truly admire your beauty. Your soft hair a beautiful shade of grey, the black around your eyes really made the orange in them stand out and most of all I found the movements of your striped tail to be hypnotising.

Alas the keepers finally caught up with you and returned you to your home.

I rushed to the ringtail lemur enclosure to search for you, I saw many striped tails wrapped around tree branches or waving in the wind. There were so many that I struggled to spot you! When I did finally find you sat alone high in a branch, I couldn’t help but beam to see my cheese sandwich in your hand.

Yours Sarah Lou x

Leave a Reply

